The Reaver

The Reaver, fourth book of the The Sundering series, was written by Richard Lee Byers and published in February 4, 2014 by Wizards of the Coast. I’ve read this one after reading The Companions, The Godborn and The Adversary. All of these books in the series are telling the story of The Sundering using different storylines and characters and they are loosely related. Anyone can read The Reaver before reading the rest of the series.

The main character of The Reaver is named Anton Marivaldi who is a reaver and a pirate. Also there is little boy called Stedd Whitehorn, who is the choosen of the God Lathander who is presumed to be lost at beginning of the story.

In the first three books of The Sundering we met mostly with regular characters. Mostly the weirdest characters were demon like creatures. Richard Lee Byers creates a lich-lord and undeath pirate for the book. Szass Tam the Lich-Lord of the Thayans and newly raised by Umberlee, undead pirate captain Evendur Highcastle make the story more interesting.

Also we have one more character, Umara Ankhlap who is a Thayan Wizard who will help Anton and Stedd in their missions.

I got this book from Netgalley. Thank you, Netgalley.

The Reaver

The Reaver

This story is really different from the first three books of The Sundering series. First of all we have fresh and different set of characters. And most of the story takes place in the sea, which I like. I like the main characters both Anton and Stedd are well created and likeable characters, and also Umara is supporting the story well.

I hope Richard Lee Byers will write more books for these characters.

I try to rate plot, characterization, style, setting and entertainment separately and take the average of these for overall rating. The overall rating is 3.6 which translates, it is between “liked it” and “really liked it”.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *